Where to Buy CTPL in the Philippines: Online and Near You
Where to buy CTPL in the Philippines: insurers, pawnshops and GCash, with prices as listed on 28 October 2026, and how to check that a policy is valid.
- Published:
- Updated:
- Facts checked:
Quick answer
- You can buy CTPL from insurers directly, at pawnshops like Cebuana Lhuillier, M Lhuillier and Palawan, and in apps like GCash. As listed on 28 October 2026, private car CTPL ranged from P560 to P610.40, and motorcycle CTPL from P280 to P300.40, before any extra fees a seller lists.
- The official IMC 4-2006 total for a private car is P560 for 1 year, taxes included. If a seller charges more, ask what the difference is for and get an official receipt.
- A valid CTPL has a Confirmation of Cover that the LTO checks electronically. The insurer must be authorized by the Insurance Commission.
"Saan ba pwedeng bumili ng CTPL na tatanggapin ng LTO?" Kahit saan ka tumingin, may nagbebenta: sa pawnshop, sa app, sa labas ng LTO. The good news is that you have real choices. The catch is that prices vary a little, some pages still show old benefit amounts, and fake CTPL still exists.
We checked the official rules and the sellers' own pages on 28 October 2026. Here's where you can buy, what each one lists, and how to make sure your CTPL is real.
AutoInsurance.ph is an independent guide run by Dominet BV. We're not an insurer, agent or broker, and we don't sell policies or give personal prices. Some links on this site may be affiliate links, which means we may earn a commission if you buy through them. Local insurers we mention may not pay us anything. That never changes what we write. Read our affiliate disclosure. No seller on this page pays us. The prices below were typed in by hand from each seller's page and may have changed.
The official price first
The Insurance Commission sets CTPL premiums. Under Insurance Memorandum Circular 4-2006, the total CTPL premium, including documentary stamp tax, VAT and local government tax, is:
| Vehicle | 1 year | 3 years |
|---|---|---|
| Private car, jeep or utility vehicle | P560 | P1,610 |
| Motorcycle, tricycle or trailer | P250 | P720 |
| Light and medium truck (own goods), not over 3,930 kg | P610 | P1,750 |
| Heavy truck (own goods) and private bus | P1,200 | P3,440 |
IMC 2024-01, which raised the benefits from 24 March 2024, said these premium rates stay in force. Keep these numbers in mind when you compare.
Where you can buy CTPL, with prices as listed
| Seller | Insurer named on the page | Private car, 1 year | Motorcycle, 1 year | As listed on |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cebuana Lhuillier | Not named on the page | P610.40 | P300.40 | 28 October 2026 |
| M Lhuillier (ML Insurance) | Paramount Life & General Insurance | P606, plus P100 for the Certificate of Validation | P296, plus P100 for the Certificate of Validation | 28 October 2026 |
| Palawan Pawnshop (ProtekTODO MyCTPL) | Not named on the page | P599 | P290 | 28 October 2026 |
| GCash GInsure, FPG CTPL | FPG | P560 | P280 | 28 October 2026 |
| GCash GInsure, BPI/MS CTPL | BPI/MS | P560 | P280 | 28 October 2026 |
| GCash GInsure, Standard CTPL | Standard Insurance | P300.40 (vehicle type not stated) | P300.40 (vehicle type not stated) | 28 October 2026 |
| Oona (direct) | Oona | Starts from P290 a year (vehicle type not stated) | Starts from P290 a year (vehicle type not stated) | 28 October 2026 |
The GCash Help Center's page on Standard Insurance CTPL describes it as cover for private cars.
A few things stand out:
- Most listed prices are above the IMC 4-2006 totals. If you're charged more than P560 for a private car or P250 for a motorcycle, ask the seller what the extra is for, and make sure the official receipt shows it.
- Some pages show old benefit amounts. Cebuana's table lists a no-fault indemnity of P15,000, and the GCash page shows "up to 100,000". Under IMC 2024-01, the limit is P200,000 and the no-fault indemnity is P30,000 per person, and the circular says the new benefits apply automatically to existing CTPL policies.
- Insurer names aren't always shown. Ask which insurer issues your policy before you pay. You'll need that name for any claim.
Buying online vs at a branch
Online (insurer website or app): you pay from your phone and get the policy by email. The GCash Help Center says Standard's CTPL documents are sent within an hour to your registered email, and it lists plate-number-based start dates so the policy lines up with your registration month. It also says you can cancel within seven days of receiving the policy.
At a branch (pawnshop or insurer office): good if you prefer paying cash or want a printed copy right away. Bring your OR and CR so the vehicle details are typed correctly.
Near the LTO: you'll often see sellers near LTO offices. Some are legitimate agents. Use the checks below before you pay anyone, and avoid fixers.
Whichever channel you use, the policy must be coterminous with your registration, as Circular Letter 2021-54 requires. Our renewal guide explains the timing.
How to make sure your CTPL is valid
1. The insurer must be authorized. Section 390 of the Insurance Code says owners must get CTPL from a company authorized by the Insurance Commissioner. You can check the Commission's list of licensed non-life companies on its website.
2. There must be a Confirmation of Cover (COC). Circular Letter 2021-54 requires insurers to issue a COC for registration and make sure it can be authenticated in real time.
3. The LTO checks it electronically. LTO Memorandum Circular ACL-2010-1271 says that from 16 February 2010, only policies recorded through the Insurance Commission's COC gateway and verified through the LTO's verification facility are accepted for LTO transactions. If your COC isn't in the system, the LTO can't use it.
4. The details must match your car. Plate number, MV file number, chassis and engine numbers. The GCash Help Center notes that details found contrary to the policy can be grounds for denying a claim.
Signs of a fake or bad CTPL
- No insurer name, or a company you can't find on the Insurance Commission's list.
- No COC number, or a seller who says you don't need one.
- A price far below the official total, or a seller who won't give an official receipt.
- Someone offering to "fix" your registration along with the CTPL. LTO-NCR asks the public to report fixers. Our renewal guide has more on this.
- A policy that doesn't match your plate or registration month.
If you're unsure, ask the insurer directly to confirm the policy number.
Can you buy a 3-year CTPL?
IMC 4-2006 lists 3-year rates: P1,610 for a private car and P720 for a motorcycle. None of the seller pages we read on 28 October 2026 listed a 3-year price, so ask the seller whether they offer it and check with the LTO that the term matches your registration.
What to bring when you buy
Whether you buy online or at a counter, have these ready so the policy matches your car exactly:
- Your latest certificate of registration (CR) and official receipt (OR)
- Plate number, or conduction sticker number for a new vehicle
- MV file number, chassis number and engine number, all copied from the CR
- The name of the registered owner, exactly as it appears on the CR
- A valid ID, if you're buying at a branch
If you just bought a second-hand vehicle, transfer the registration first or ask the insurer how to issue the policy. The Insurance Code treats the registered owner as the person who must have CTPL in force.
After you pay, check the COC and policy before you leave the counter or close the app. A typo in the plate or engine number can cause problems at the LTO and, as the GCash Help Center notes, at claim time.
Buying CTPL for a motorcycle
The same channels sell motorcycle CTPL, at the prices in the table above. The official IMC 4-2006 total for motorcycles, tricycles and trailers is P250 for 1 year. Our motorcycle insurance guide also covers comprehensive cover for motorcycles.
What CTPL won't do
CTPL only pays for death or bodily injury to third parties and passengers. It doesn't cover your car, other cars, property or theft. See our CTPL guide and our comprehensive vs CTPL guide.
Frequently asked questions
Where can I buy CTPL near me?
At insurer offices, at pawnshops like Cebuana Lhuillier, M Lhuillier and Palawan Pawnshop, and online through insurer websites or apps like GCash. Check that the insurer is authorized by the Insurance Commission and that you get a COC.
How much is CTPL at Cebuana?
As listed by Cebuana Lhuillier on 28 October 2026: P610.40 for a private car and P300.40 for a motorcycle or tricycle, for one year.
Saan pwedeng bumili ng CTPL online?
Sa website ng insurer o sa apps tulad ng GCash. As listed on 28 October 2026, GCash showed FPG CTPL and BPI/MS CTPL at P560 for cars and P280 for motorcycles. Make sure the COC is sent to you and matches your vehicle.
How do I know if my CTPL is accredited by the LTO?
The LTO only accepts policies recorded in the Insurance Commission's COC gateway and verified through its system. Buy from an insurer on the Commission's licensed list and make sure you get a COC.
Why is CTPL more than P560 at some stores?
The official IMC 4-2006 total for a private car is P560. Some sellers list higher prices or extra fees, like M Lhuillier's P100 Certificate of Validation. Ask what each amount is for and get an official receipt.
Related guides
- CTPL Insurance Explained: What It Covers in the Philippines
What CTPL insurance is, who it pays, the P200,000 limit and P30,000 no-fault benefit under IMC 2024-01, what it doesn't cover, and why the LTO asks for it.
- How to Renew Car Insurance and LTO Registration
How to renew CTPL or comprehensive car insurance with your LTO registration: the COC, LTO requirements, the plate schedule, and the 2026 extension.
- Motorcycle Insurance Philippines: CTPL, Cover and Costs
Motorcycle insurance in the Philippines: the official CTPL price, listed prices from sellers on 28 October 2026, comprehensive cover rates, and who's covered.
- How Much Is Car Insurance in the Philippines? Official Rates
Official CTPL premium rates from the Insurance Commission, the motor tariff's comprehensive rate ranges, deductibles and Acts of Nature, all dated and sourced.
- Magkano ang Insurance ng Sasakyan? Mabilis na Sagot
Magkano ang insurance ng sasakyan? Mabilis na sagot sa CTPL, comprehensive at motor, with official rates and prices as listed on 28 October 2026.
Sources
- Insurance Memorandum Circular No. 4-2006, compulsory motor vehicle liability insurance coverage, Supreme Court E-LibraryAccessed
- Insurance Memorandum Circular No. 2024-01, increase in the benefits for compulsory motor vehicle insurance coverage, Insurance CommissionAccessed
- Circular Letter No. 2021-54, synchronization of comprehensive motor car insurance with registration, Insurance CommissionAccessed
- LTO Memorandum Circular No. ACL-2010-1271, online and real-time authentication of certificates of cover, Supreme Court E-LibraryAccessed
- Life and non-life companies, Insurance CommissionAccessed
- Republic Act No. 10607 (Insurance Code, as amended), Insurance CommissionAccessed
- CTPL, Cebuana Lhuillier(provider page) Accessed
- ML Insurance, M Lhuillier(provider page) Accessed
- MyCTPL (Private Vehicle) 599, Palawan Pawnshop ProtekTODO(provider page) Accessed
- MyCTPL (Motorcycle) 290, Palawan Pawnshop ProtekTODO(provider page) Accessed
- Vehicle Insurance, GCash GInsure(provider page) Accessed
- Standard Insurance CTPL, GCash Help Center(provider page) Accessed
- What do you want to protect? Product list, Oona Insurance(provider page) Accessed